Ahly want to stage CL final in Cairo


Al Ahly have proposed to host Orlando Pirates in the second leg of the Orange Caf Champions League final at the Cairo Stadium instead of Arab Contractors Stadium, the club have said.

Ahly have protested against the decision by authorites to move the game to the Arab Contractors stdium citing the poor condition of the pitch.

Authorities have yet to agree whether the game should be moved to the Cairo stadium but Ahly have claimed stadium officials have given their green light.

Ahly who play Pirates on Saturday in the first leg have been playing all their Champions League matches at Hurghada’s Gouna Stadium this season behind closed doors.

Fans would be allowed to attend the final but it remains unclear if a limited number would be authorised for the game.


Cup of Cameroon: Unisport-Coton tie adjourned


Unisport Bafang Haut Nkam – Copyright : StarAfrica

The round-of-16 delayed clash between Unisport Haut Nkam and Cotonsport Garoua in the Cup of Cameroon has been postponed.

Initially billed for this Wednesday afternoon, the game has been announced for next week November 6. The main reason for this adjournment has to do with some communication concerns between the Northern and the Southern parts of Cameroon. Football fans will therefore have to wait for a week to watch a replay of the final of the 2011 edition of the Cup of Cameroon that saw Coton claiming the title (3-0) after post match penalties.

Orange CAF CL: Coton, Astres qualify for next year


Copyright : StarAfrica

Cotonsport Garoua and Astres Douala will be Cameroon’s representatives next year in the Orange CAF Champions League.

Both sides are set to finish first and second in the Cameroon national first division football championship that ends next Sunday. Cotonsport are currently leading the tables on 43 points. Astres on their part follow on the 2nd spot with the same number of points. Meanwhile, the club to represent the country in the Orange CAF Champions League will be known Sunday between Unisport Haut Nkam and Union Sportive Douala who are 3rd and 4th respectively with 39 and 38 points.

NFF don’t expect players’ revolt over slashed Afcon bonus


Copyright : StarAfrica

The Nigerian Football Federation (NFF) say they do not expect any revolt from players of the national team after their Afcon win bonus was slashed by half.

NFF have slashed the win bonus of the African Champions from $10,000 to $5,000 as part of their while some backroom staff were asked to go as the body faces serious financial crisis.

“I don’t see the players revolting. Players do not fix their bonus anywhere in the world, it is the job of the Federation,” said NFF executive committee spokesman Emeka Inyama.

“You would recall that we have been paying bonuses as at when due. It was because of the presidential committee (for the 2010 World Cup) that took the bonus to $10,000.

“The federation have always paid $5,000 after taking care of flight return tickets, daily allowances and accommodation. The $5,000 is ideal.”

The Super Eagles begin camping on May 16 in Germany ahead of a heavy schedule that  would see them face Mexico in a friendly on May 31 in the United States of America, play two 2014 World Cup qualifiers in Kenya and Namibia and also feature in the 2013 FIFA Confederations Cup in Brazil.

List For World Footballer Of The Year Released


Will Messi be crowned again or will Christiano stop him from making it 5 times in a row or will outsider Ribery steal the spotlight off these two?

(1) Gareth Bale (Real Madrid/Wales)

(2) Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich/Germany)

(3) Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich/Germany)

(4) Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich/Germany)

(5) Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich/Germany)

(6) Mesut Ozil (Arsenal/Germany)

(7) Robin van Persie (Man United/Netherlands)

(8) Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich/Netherlands)

(9) Edinson Cavani (PSG/Uruguay)

(10) Luis Suarez (Liverpool/Uruguay)

(11) Andres Iniesta (Barcelona/Spain)

(12) Xavi (Barcelona/Spain)

(13) Neymar (Barcelona/Brazil)

(14) Thiago Silva (PSG/Brazil)

(15) Radamel Falcao (Monaco/Colombia)

(16) Andrea Pirlo (Juventus/Italy)

(17) Frank Ribery (Bayern Munich/France)

(18) Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Portugal)

(19) Eden Hazard (Chelsea/Belgium)

(20) Zlatan Ibrahimovic (PSG/ Sweden)

(21) Robert Lewandowski (Dortmund/Poland)

(22) Lionel Messi (Barcelona/ Argentina)

(23) Yaya Toure (Manchester City/Ivory Coast)